Long Beach Public Library 111 West Park  Avenue               Long Beach,  New York11561 Phone 516-432-7201              Fax 889-4641Live Homework Help Free Online Help From Real Tutors

Alisweb catalog--click here

Research Databases by Subject

The Long Beach Public Library subscribes to more than 60 databases
to give you easy online access to reliable, authoritative information.
For home access, you will need your library card (barcode) number.
To see these sources in alphabetical order, click here.

Art & Architecture Health & Medicine
Associations History & Biography
Automobiles Languages
Business & Finance Literature
Children's Reference Sources Long Beach & Long Island
Education Magazines & Journals
Employment & Careers News & Current Events
Encyclopedias Performing Arts
Español/Spanish Reference & Research
Genealogy Science & Mathematics
Government & Law Travel & Geography

Art & Architecture
The Oxford Art Online A comprehensive source for all aspects of the visual arts including art reproductions, artist biographies, museum websites, and artists' home pages.
click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Associations
Community Resource Database Lists 8,500 private non-profit or government sponsored agencies and programs that provide services to Long Island residents. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Automobiles
All Data Includes automobile diagnostics, repair procedures, electrical diagrams, technical bulletins and recalls which may be printed out.
click to access in library
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Business & Finance
ABI Dateline allows users to research employment opportunities, compile data on benefits and compensation, learn about corporate strategies, and other topics from a local and regional perspective. Includes major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and area business publications. click to access in library click to access from home
ABI Select a source for acquiring business news and information. ABI/INFORM Select delivers over 510 journals, with more than 400 available in full text. Users can research industry and economic conditions, business tactics, market strategies, and more. click to access in library click to access from home
ABI Trade and Industry users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others. click to access in library click to access from home
Business and Company ASAP Covers 1980 to current month. Includes information on companies, markets, industries, mergers, and management theory from business and trade journals with full-text and images.
click to access in library click to access from home
Business and Company Resource Center Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories & news. click to access in library click to access from home
General Business File ASAP 1980 to present month. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, company directories, industry trends. click to access in library click to access from home
Hoovers Company Records Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available. click to access in library click to access from home
Newsletters ASAP 2000 to the present month. Provides access to information about specialized business and industry trends & topics. click to access in library click to access from home
PROMT (Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology) Research companies, products and technologies via summaries and full-text from 1000 business journals, newspapers, market research studies and reports. click to access in library click to access from home
Reference USA Directory information for US businesses and residences, doctors and dentists. Annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC information. Canadian business and residential. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Children's Reference Sources
African American Experience The AAE is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora giving voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day. click to access in library click to access from home
America the Beautiful Includes digital photographs, current events, interactive maps, almanacs, timelines and a dictionary of the 50 states, Puerto Rico and U. S. Territories. click to access from home
Daily Life in America A searchable website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present. Thousands of annotated documents drawn from all places and periods in World and American history. click to access in library click to access from home
Daily Life Online Everyday life and social customs throughout world history. Includes World Cultures. click to access in library click to access in library
EBSCO Animals Provides in-depth information on topics relating to animals and their habitats. click to access in library click to access from home
Kids InfoBits For grades K-5. Covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. click to access in library click to access from home
Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type—magazines, Funk & Wagnall's Encyclopedia, reference books, photos, flags, etc. click to access in library click to access from home
Latino American Experience The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinos. Content spans pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos. click to access in library click to access from home
Live Homework Help Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses. Available every day between the hours of 2:00 - 10:00 p. m. in the Library or from home (students must complete a one-time download to their home computer). Students may ask questions about math, science, social studies, and english including essay writing and general composition. click to access in library click to access from home
NoveList K-8 Find new books to read based on what you already like. click to access in library click to access from home
Pop Culture Universe Greenwood has taken the "Decades Research" assignment to an entirely new level with Pop Culture Universe. Research a specific decade or the everyday events surrounding historical events, learn about the history of some of our favorite people, places, and things, learn about America's past and the influence that popular culture has had on our world today.
click to access in library click to access from home
Primary Search 1990 to present month. Full-text of more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research with reading level indicators. click to access in library click to access from home
Searchasaurus Includes Primary Search, Middle Search Plus, a general encyclopedia, an encyclopedia of animals, a dictionary and an image file. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Education & Library Science
Career Cruising Explore a future career path or conduct research before you change careers by using Career Matchmaker and/or view multimedia interviews with people working in hundreds of careers. Career Cruising also includes detailed information about colleges and univerisities across the U.S. with links to financial aid resources. click to access in library click to access from home
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
click to access in library click to access from home
Proquest Professional Education Journals offers a comprehensive research collection of more than 760 magazines and journals for professional development and continuing education—the ultimate resource to help teachers stay current in their profession. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Employment & Careers
Career Cruising Explore a future career path or conduct research before you change careers by using Career Matchmaker and/or view multimedia interviews with people working in hundreds of careers. Career Cruising also includes detailed information about colleges and universities across the U.S. with links to financial aid resources. click to access in library click to access from home
Learning Express Library A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses. Study and practice for academic, civil service, and licensing tests, including basic skills, college entrance, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Law Enforcement, TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship and more. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations and individualized analysis of results. Computer Module includes instruction for Access, Excel, PowerPoint, MS Office and Word. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Español/Spanish
Ebscohost Español El Anfitrión De Ebsco En Español- Incluye MasterFILE Escoge, Se Acobarda & La Enciclopedia De Wagnalls, Animales De Ebsco, La Búsqueda Del Tema, Primer Ministro De Fuente De Negocio, La Colección General De La Ciencia, Las Noticias Regionales Del Negocio, La Búsqueda Mediana, Fuente de Salud, Masterfile La Búsqueda Primaria, El Reloj De La Salud De Alt.
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre Es para empezar estudiantes y
intermedios. Incluye Países, Ciudades, Lugares de interés, Biografías, Historia, Tradiciones y Artes.

click to access from home
Salud en Español Una base de datos de Ebsco que es un texto repleto el recurso de consumo de la salud. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Genealogy
Ancestry Library Edition Contains 5 billion genealogy records with new records added daily. Records include the entire United States Federal Census from 1790 - 1930. In-Library access only. click to access in library  
HeritageQuest A unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes images of original U.S. Census records. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

 

Government & Law

LexisNexis New York and other state statutes plus some U. S. laws and regulations.

click to access in library  
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Health & Medicine
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module 1980 to present month. Includes government databases, magazines, journals, newspapers and directories regarding all health topics.
click to access in library click to access from home
Proquest Health Management Journals provides in-depth coverage from over 1,440 publications with nearly 1,200 available in full text. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. click to access in library click to access from home
Salud Para Todos Una base de datos de Ebsco que es un texto repleto el recurso de consumo de la salud. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

History & Biography
African American Experience The AAE is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora giving voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day. click to access in library click to access from home
Annals of American History Online Illuminates U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents-the original words of history-makers. History, society, and everyday life come into focus through a variety of articles and media.
click to access in library click to access from home
Biography Resource Center Biographies are searchable by birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation and gender with quick reference to 900,000 people. click to access in library click to access from home
Daily Life in America A searchable website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present. Thousands of annotated documents drawn from all places and periods in World and American history. click to access in library click to access from home
Daily Life Online Everyday life and social customs throughout world history. Includes World Cultures. click to access in library click to access in library
Discovering Collection Includes in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history, biography, science and social studies.
click to access in library click to access from home
Latino American Experience The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinos. Content spans pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos. click to access in library click to access from home
Live Homework Help Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses. Available every day between the hours of 2:00 - 10:00 p. m. in the Library or from home (students must complete a one-time download to their home computer). Students may ask questions about math, science, social studies, and english including essay writing and general composition. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Languages
The Library hopes to offer other language learning modules in the future.
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Literature
Discovering Collection Includes in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history, biography, science and social studies.
click to access in library click to access from home
Literature Resource Center Provides biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis of novelists, poets, essayists and journalists from every age and literary discipline.
click to access in library click to access from home
Literature Resources from Gale Literature cross searches Literature Resource Center along with many other Gale literature databases. click to access in library click to access from home
Litfinder Includes author profiles, citations, explanations, analysis of 85,000 full-text poems, plays, speeches, essays, and short stories.
click to access in library click to access from home
Live Homework Help Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses. Available every day between the hours of 2:00 - 10:00 p. m. in the Library or from home (students must complete a one-time download to their home computer). Students may ask questions about math, science, social studies, and english including essay writing and general composition. click to access in library click to access from home
NetLibrary (create account in library to use from home) Net Library includes 4000 free e-books including nonfiction and classics searchable by subject. You must create an account in the Library. Then you may access Net Library from home or in the Library.
click to access in library click to access from home
NoveList A readers' advisory tool that assists readers in finding new authors and titles based on past reading preferences. NoveList is linked to the Library's catalog displaying the Library's holdings.
click to access in library click to access from home
Twayne Authors Series Contains the full-text of 200 Twayne Literary Masters books on world, U. S. and English authors.
click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Long Beach and Long Island
Community Resource Database Lists 8,500 private non-profit or government sponsored agencies and programs that provide services to Long Island residents. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

News & Current Events
Black Newspapers provides access to esteemed newspapers from across the U.S., searchable from 1989-present. click to access in library click to access from home
Custom Newspapers 150 national and international newspapers.
click to access in library click to access from home
National Newspaper Index 1997 to present month. Indexes America's top 5 newspapers: NY Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post. Not full-text. click to access in library click to access in library
New York State Newspapers A database of 10 major newspapers published in the State of New York including the NY Times & NY Post. click to access in library click to access from home
New York Times Historical Indexes the full text of the New York Times from 1851, with an embargo on the current three years. click to access in library click to access from home
Newsday 1985-present in full-text. click to access in library click to access from home
Opposing Viewpoints A source for information on social issues and current events. Pros and cons, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and links to websites. click to access in library click to access from home
Proquest Direct From 1986 to current day. Provides access to thousands of current periodicals and newspapers with full-text. Includes Newsday and NY Times. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Performing Arts
Oxford Music A comprehensive resource for all aspects of the musical arts including opera, jazz, popular and 20th Century music.
click to access in library click to access from home
Pop Culture Universe Greenwood has taken the "Decades Research" assignment to an entirely new level with Pop Culture Universe. Research a specific decade or the everyday events surrounding historical events, learn about the history of some of our favorite people, places, and things, learn about America's past and the influence that popular culture has had on our world today. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Reference & Research
General Reference Sources:
Ebscohost Español El Anfitrión De Ebsco En Español- Incluye MasterFILE Escoge, Se Acobarda & La Enciclopedia De Wagnalls, Animales De Ebsco, La Búsqueda Del Tema, Primer Ministro De Fuente De Negocio, La Colección General De La Ciencia, Las Noticias Regionales Del Negocio, La Búsqueda Mediana, Fuente de Salud, Matserfile La Búsqueda Primaria, El Reloj De La Salud De Alt.
NetLibrary (create account in library to use from home) Net Library includes 4000 free e-books including nonfiction and classics searchable by subject. You must create an account in the Library. Then you may access Net Library from home or in the Library. click to access in library click to access from home
Proquest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries:
Encyclopedia Americana An online version of the Scholastic publication. click to access in library click to access from home
Encyclopedia Britannica Search the encyclopedia as well as magazines, web sites, and videos. You can also explore learning materials, a dictionary and thesaurus, atlases, timelines. click to access in library click to access from home
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia a multidisciplinary encyclopedia that offers more than 25,000 articles on a wide variety of topics. This source provides full text for all articles. Content is updated annually.

click to access in library click to access from home
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia For students, based upon the Academic Encyclopedia. Includes the encyclopedia, news, research starters, and timelines. click to access in library click to access from home
Webster's Dictionary Merriam-Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged. click to access in library click to access from home
Magazines & Journals:
Gale OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Proquest Direct From 1986 to current day. Provides access to thousands of current periodicals and newspapers with full-text. Includes Newsday. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Science & Mathematics
Discovering Collection Includes in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history, biography, science and social studies. click to access in library click to access from home
EBSCO Animals Provides in-depth information on topics relating to animals and their habitats. click to access in library click to access from home
GreenFILE Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. click to access in library click to access from home
Live Homework Help Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses. Available every day between the hours of 2:00 - 10:00 p. m. in the Library or from home (students must complete a one-time download to their home computer). Students may ask questions about math, science, social studies, and english including essay writing and general composition. click to access in library click to access from home
The New Book of Popular Science Based upon the popular students' print edition. Includes the sciclopedia, news, projects, biographies, and skywatch. click to access in library click to access from home
Proquest Computer Journals delivers vital information directly to your desktop from scholarly journals and trade publications as well as consumer titles. The database includes product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Travel & Geography
America the Beautiful Includes digital photographs, current events, interactive maps, almanacs, timelines and a dictionary of the 50 states, Puerto Rico and U. S. Territories.   click to access from home
Discovering Collection Includes in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history, biography, science and social studies. click to access in library click to access from home
Global Reference Center Britannica's Global Reference Center, the home of comprehensive online content in five languages: Spanish, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Korean, French. click to access in library  
Lands and Peoples An interactive version of the Scholastic reference book including the entire encyclopedia, a news desk and an atlas. click to access in library click to access from home
Live Homework Help Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses. Available every day between the hours of 2:00 - 10:00 p. m. in the Library or from home (students must complete a one-time download to their home computer). Students may ask questions about math, science, social studies, and english including essay writing and general composition. click to access in library click to access from home
World Data Analyst Combines detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Home | General Information | Catalog & Databases | Links | Library Calendar | Long Beach Links
Youth Services | Book Group | Links en Español | Bibliographies | Allard K. Lowenstein | Email Us

created and maintained by M. A. Buss